101: How to Compost (The Collection)

If you’re a beginning composter, this set of newsletters will help you get started.

  1. First of all, relax:

    The Rot
    Relax, you can't really get compost "wrong."
    First, some cute news: Substack featured my Halloween edition of The Rot in one of their round-ups. Lots of other cool newsletters in there, too. :) It’s been a minute since I’ve written. Fall is planting season in Los Angeles, and I’ve been unexpectedly busy in my neighborhood garden. The organization I was volunteering for just asked to hire me part-t…
    Read more
  2. Get the right tools:

    The Rot
    [GUIDE] What tools do you need to compost?
    Hi, I’ve put together an extremely brief reader survey to help me better understand who you (dear readers) all are, and what kind of information you’re looking for about compost. It will take you three minutes, tops, to fill out, and I really hope you will. …
    Read more
  3. Get familiar with the basics:

    The Rot
    How to compost, a guide for absolute beginners
    I’m so used to compost at this point that I forget it can be kind of intimidating. Compost involves science, garbage, smells, what to even put in there?, and (potentially) attracts animals. A quick skim of the internet isn’t particularly helpful, either, and might leave you feeling like you need a phD in biology just to have a backyard heap. Phew. So wh…
    Read more
  4. Decide what kind of composting you want to do:

    The Rot
    Building a three-bin compost system, introducing: paid subscriptions!, and more
    I’ve added a paid tier to my newsletter. The minimum amount that Substack makes you charge is $5, so that’s how much it costs. I’m not introducing this tier so that I can paywall any of my content. I would love for information about compost, waste, rot, and sustainability to be freely available to all. However, I do need to make a living, and everything…
    Read more
    The Rot
    [GUIDE] How to get started with vermicomposting
    Vermicompost. Worm castings. Castings. All of these are just fancy ways to avoid saying the truth, which is: worm poop. “Vermicompost” is farming worm poop. You put some worms in a little handmade environment and cultivate their poop for your garden. It’s wonderful. Worm poop is considered to be the richest, most nutrient-dense soil available for a farm…
    Read more
    The Rot
    How to build a compost anywhere (kind of)
    I get about four texts a day from people asking me about the Lomi Home Composter. At first, I played along and pretended it seemed nice. But the more texts I’ve received, the more I’ve felt compelled to take a more truthful, public stance on this device. (Plus, I’m starting to feel like they’re ad-targeting my followers…
    Read more
  5. Decide where you want to do it:

    The Rot
    Where should I put my compost pile?
    “Where should I put my compost pile?” is a question that nags most compost newbies that I work with. Should they put it in the shade? What about the sun? Does it need a lot of space? What about animals? These are all common and normal questions, but they neglect to address the single, most important factor regarding the success of any given compost heap…
    Read more

    Don’t be afraid to put weird stuff in it:

    The Rot
    Why you should pee on your compost
    I don’t think of myself as a very fussy composter. In my opinion, almost anything is worth at least trying to compost—and a lot of the rumors you hear about what you “absolutely shouldn’t” put in your pile (citrus, egg shells), are frankly untrue, albeit likely came from well-intentioned gardeners who saw that some things are harder to break down and/or…
    Read more
  6. Know when it’s finished:

The Rot
Q: How do you know when compost is finished?
I’ve answered this question in a few, oblique ways across the course of writing this newsletter—but it’s a question I get so much, and with such concern!, from readers, that I wish to dedicate an entire edition. How do I know when to use my compost…
Read more